Metallic Lips with Mac Pigments

Metallic lips have been a huge makeup trend this summer. I’ve read great reviews on the metallic liquid lipsticks by Milani, ColourPop, Jouer, Nyx and Kylie cosmetics. I’ve been dying to try the Milani Amore Metallics lipstick, but I haven’t been able to find it in stores yet. In fact many of the popular brands are sold online, so you can’t just go to your nearest Ulta or Sephora to pick them up. I’ve been on the hunt to find affordable and easily accessible alternatives.

One alternative I tried out today was using Mac pigments mixed with Vaseline to make a metallic liquid lipstick. I can’t believe I’m just now learning about this trick. I typically buy the Mac pigment sets in the holiday collections. They honestly take forever to use, and I can’t use them on my every day eye looks. It’s great to find other ways to get more use out of them. I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.

First I mixed about 1 part Vaseline with 2-3 parts Mac pigment. The amount of Vaseline you use will determine whether your look is more Creamy or Matte. Make sure to mix well and smooth it onto your lips with a brush.

IMG_1748edit

IMG_1751edit.jpg

IMG_1754edit

The pigment colors used are listed with the Mac cosmetics description. Out of the 7 Mac pigments that I have these were the only ones I would actually wear as a lipstick.

IMG_1706edit.jpg

Rose
Rose with copper sparkle(frost finish)

IMG_1745edit.jpg

Heritage Rouge
Dirty brown plum(frost finish)

I applied both colors with just one coat of the pigment mixture, so with more coats the look can definitely be a lot more pigmented. The mixture could also be applied on top of a matte liquid lipstick. I definitely want to play around with other pigments. Maybe I’ll try the Nyx pigments next.

One thing the pigments all had in common was that they were frost finish. I think the Metallic lip trend is so similar to the 90’s frost trend. The metallic trend just incorporates more practical nude and dark colors.

Have you used loose pigments on the lips, and if so what did you think?

 

6 thoughts on “Metallic Lips with Mac Pigments

  1. The Sartorial Coquette

    this is such a cool idea! i love how these shades are daring but still so wearable at the same time 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

