Cabin trip, small town life, and being different

My mom and stepdad purchased a vacation cabin in Fancy Gap, Virginia last year. The cabin is located in a small town right off of the blue ridge parkway. I’ve really been pushing for a family weekend there, but it’s booked on most weekends. A few weeks ago I was able to make the trip happen. I love spending time with my family and it was one of the highlights of my year.

We decided to venture out into the Blue Ridge Parkway. On the way to our destination we found a really beautiful historical site.


After leaving the site we continued driving down beautiful roads full of crops and wild turkeys. We visited a candy factory, which I wish I took pictures of! Then we went to the two pump gas station aka “Poor Farmers Market”.


This was in a small middle of nowhere mountain town, and I’m guessing they rarely have African-American families stroll in. It was kind of humorous to me, but the people there were friendly. My family and I are definitely different. I’ve always been taught to do the things I like, and that I don’t need to fit into a stereotype. To march into situations where I’m different and be proud of that difference. To be confident in who I am regardless! The day didn’t end here, but I’ll save the rest for another post.

If you’re different and proud of it, leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “Cabin trip, small town life, and being different

Leave a Reply

