What’s your love language?

One day I got the idea for my husband and I to take the Five Love Languages quiz. If you are unfamiliar with the Five Love Languages, it’s a book by Dr. Gary Chapman about the way we love. The love languages are Words of affirmation, Acts of service, Receiving gifts, Quality time, and Physical touch. As individuals we all show love in different ways, and like to receive love in different ways.

Like many women I love to receive compliments and hear sweet words. Words of affirmation is my top love language. It turns out that it was ranked four out of five for my husband. His top love language is Acts of service. His way of showing me that he loves me and that he thinks I’m beautiful is by doing nice things for me. This also explains why he doesn’t react as excited as I expect him to when I compliment him, but doing something as little as making him a special dinner puts the biggest smile on his face.

I learned that although our love languages aren’t exactly the same, Acts of service and quality time are ranked within our top three. I suspect that this is a big part of the close bond we have. We also both prefer physical touch over receiving gifts.

So what is it that you do after you and your partner receive your love language results, and realize that you might be a little different? You Compromise!

I used to get a little upset when I’d get dressed up and my husband would say “You look nice”. I wanted him to say “You look amazing”, “You look Beautiful”, and “I’m so proud to have you on my arm”. The reality is that words of affirmation isn’t his top love language, so it’s not the top way he shows love. But that doesn’t mean he loves me any less or doesn’t think I’m beautiful.

It turns out that just a little bit of communication completely turned things around. He understood why sweet compliments are important to me, and expressed himself better with words. I began to do more acts of service for him, because at the end of the day we both just want to make each other happy.

Featured images: Amber Michelle Photography

This was actually my first blog post, and I think now it deserves a second shot. Thank you for reading, and if you’ve read the love languages book or quiz  I’d love to hear what you think ❤️


24 thoughts on “What’s your love language?

  1. Most men don’t speak “the love language”fluently,not that they don’t want to, they just have to learn….another good read and informative,my hubby may have to learn a few words…..lol


  2. Great post, been spending today checking out different blogs and came across yours. Thanks for sharing your insights, communication is definitely key. Check my post out if you get the chance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! I learned something today.
    Once again, I’m a counter stereotype: Words of affirmation is my least favourite form of love language. I’m actually surprised since I don’t like being touched all that much, but somehow I still like it better than getting complimented, haha. My favourite is time spent together.
    Unfortunately, I can’t have my husband try it: he gets angry when doing that kind of test. XD “But those are two very different things, why would I have to choose between them!? It’s like comparing apples and oranges!” That’s alright, I know him enough by now to know what makes him happy.
    Nice post! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I have taken this quiz and my top two are physical touch and quality time. Those are the same as my boyfriends. It is nice to be on the same page in the ways that we show each other our love.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Veronica M.

    I’m so glad I find your blog-its absolutely lovely and the topics are so relevant and written out beautifully 🙂
    But about this article-I think discovering what your love languages are and those in your life love languages as well is really important for relationships to be strengthened and understanding to grow. My two top love languages are Quality Time and Physical Touch, so I feel most loved and appreciated when people spend good times together with me, and something as simple as a loving hug will really brighten my day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s