Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review

After seeing so many rave reviews, I’ve highly anticipated trying the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask. I’ve checked to see if it’s in stock at Vitamin Shoppe multiple times, but it’s always sold out. One of the workers there said they sell out quickly. I realized that if I didn’t order it online I’d probably never get it, but I kept procrastinating.

Finally I randomly found the mask in a small Health Store. I was surprised to see that it was merely green bentonite clay powder. Something my mom had a huge container of at home, well at least in the gray variety. Still I was determined to buy this product, and it was actually cheaper than buying a pound of bentonite clay powder.

clay-mask-3

As I mentioned earlier the product comes in the powder form. I pour out enough powder to cover my face and mix it with Apple cider vinegar(containing the mother) + water to make it into a paste. I add a few drops of 100% tea tree oil, in order to treat existing bumps and prevent future breakouts.
Bentonite clay is said to draw out toxins and oil from the skin, and to have a calming effect of skin conditions like acne or psoriasis. Apple Cider Vinegar has  antiseptic properties and can kill the bacteria that causes acne, but it must contain something called the mother. The mother contains proteins, enzymes, and good bacteria. Tea tree oil has antiseptic and anti-fungal properties, and it can deeply penetrate the skin to treat cystic acne and boils.

clay-mask2

When I first apply the mask to my face it feels really cool and refreshing. It’s truly a relaxing experience. As the mask drys it tightens on the skin, and its similar to what I think Botox would look like. Your skin gets so tight that it’s hard to talk or smile.  I leave the mask on for about 15 mins. Just long enough to let the mask dry.

clay-mask1( I think in this image I had the mask on for about 25 mins, and it was 100% dry)

On the first night that I used the mask my skin was really inflamed and irritated, and it looked much better the next morning. I’ve been using the mask twice a week for three weeks now, and I always see a difference on the day after use. My skin is less oily and red, and I think it’s really calming for the skin. The mask reduces oil so my skin also looks much better under makeup and my makeup lasts for longer.

I definitely recommend this product to those with oily and acne-prone skin. Although its not an overnight cure, I think it really does improve your skin overnight. I think it would be especially beneficial the night before an important event or day you really want to look and feel good.

Thank you for reading, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on this product! Also let me know in the comments below if you use this product in a different way and/or add other ingredients.

5 thoughts on “Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask Review

Leave a Reply

