Am I too settled to travel? 

Lately I’m staring to wonder if I’m too settled to travel. I’ve honestly played it safe when it comes to traveling. Mostly less than five hour distance trips. Only for a few days. Maybe a weeklong trip once a year. 7 days out of 365. 2% of my year. That’s such a small percentage of time to spend on one of my favorite things in the world.

I dream of being one of those brave people who drop everything and travel. Even if I drop everything for just a month. It’s so hard for me to imagine not working for a month. When I really think about it, it seems selfish and wrong.

My twenties have been spent being very practical and responsible. The main goal in sight is always to further my education and find a stable career. To continue to elevate in life, and put travel on the back burner. Maybe start to travel more in my 40’s and 50’s, when my future kids are older.

The funny thing is I’ve always told my husband and everyone who asks that I want to travel a lot before I have kids. My brain and my heart are on two completely different wavelengths.

It has just settled in, that I’ve become too settled in. Literally to the point that I might not be able to follow my heart right now.

When I say that I’m settled in, I basically mean that my husband and I are in a steady place in life. Something that we’ve spent the past ten years of our lives working towards. It’s really not the best time to shake things up.

In a perfect world I’d drop everything and be a travel blogger. I can only imagine how passionate my life would be. I already love traveling, writing, and photography so much. Even though this seems like a highly HIGHLY unlikely pathway in my life, just the idea that there’s the smallest opportunity makes me smile.

You never know where life will take you, but I hope it eventually takes me around the world!

2 thoughts on “Am I too settled to travel? 

  1. Evangelina07

    I hope you will get to travel some more. It is so rewarding. To take a month off is difficult for most people but you can go to a lot of really cool places for 5-7 days.
    It’s never too late to get started and I bet you once you have tried it, you get addicted to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Travelling solo for a month, at exactly the point in my life when I thought this was absolutely impossible, was actually absolutely what I needed. I was very settled too, both in life and at work, but the dissatisfaction was brewing. It helped save my sanity, and everything else in between. Highly recommended! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

