Adulting is hard

Adulting isn’t quite what I thought it would be. It’s not all rolling in money, sipping cosmos at happy hour with friends, frequent vacations, cooking meals every night, and having a perfect neat little home. It’s full time jobs, budgeting and bills, relaxing on the couch, struggling to piece together pto, ordering out, and being too tired to clean.


Adulting is hard and honestly sometimes it feels like failure. One look at social media can make you wish you had it all, because everyone else seems to.

Then there’s the dreaded “What do you do” question. It’s usually the first question following your introduction to someone. Your job is a strong representation of you now, and if you don’t have an impressive one you get the sad 😕face. Some people get the same look if they’re not married by a certain age. Or if they don’t have children by a certain age.

The funny thing is that from 20-40 years old we’re technically in our Early Adulthood years. Yet some of us feel the need to accomplish our life goals by 30, and we’re still pretty new to adulthood.


At 27 years old I’m married and I have a career, but I definitely don’t feel like I’ve nailed adulting. Sometimes I don’t even feel like I’ve pierced the surface. I still do some really awkward and immature things.


Honestly I don’t think being an adult is based solely on your accomplishments, it’s really just a mindset. I know people with amazing career success, who feel like failures because they’re single. Or vice versa. We don’t have to fit all the ideals. I think having a roof over your head, a job, and bills paid is enough to be proud of.

12 thoughts on “Adulting is hard

  1. Shenica S. Nelson

    Adulting is very hard… Your post is so timely as we all fall for the “you have to be ALL together” routine. The good thing about it all though is we can laugh at the failed attempts of adulting and wake up the next day and try it all over again.

    Great post!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I relate to this so much! I just started my first full time job since graduating uni, and it is not what I expected 😳 I’d love it if you could check out my blog, emilykburr.wordpress.com 💕

    Like

  3. Love, love, love this!

    Before I had a kid, I was juuuuust starting to feel like I could adult: I had a well-paid full-time job and had even managed to follow a scheduled that allowed me to cook most of my meals and even keep my place pretty neat. Well, that didn’t last. With a kid, there simply aren’t enough hours in the day to do everything. I sometimes get discouraged and… yeah, feel like a failure. But then, my couple is still healthy, my daughter is smart and learning fast, I must do some things right. So what if I occasionally buy premade food from a caterer? It’s tasty and “home-made”, not full of additives. So what if most of my house is a mess? It’s only mildly unpleasant to see.

    I’ll never be the mother and home-maker my mother was, but I’m not her. I’ll learn to adult my own way.

    Like

  4. Veronica M.

    I’m so freaked out to start adulting! I’m a current junior year in high school, and when I remember that in less than a year and a half I’m going to be in college living on my own, I freak out a bit at the idea of adulting lol.
    That Gollum meme is hilarious btw XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment