Skipping the Vacation to be Productive

Today marks the end of my six days off work, and it has been amazing. The best thing about it is that I didn’t need to take pto. I worked three 12 hr shifts from last Sunday-Tuesday, and wasn’t scheduled to work again until the next Tuesday. Usually I would at least go on a weekend trip or day trip, but I spent almost the entire break at home.

It was my chance to better myself and my home. To get rid of clutter, and to organize. To relax, because lets be honest vacations aren’t always relaxing. My biggest task was getting winter clothes and scarves together to give to Goodwill. I used to be one of those people who would hold onto clothes for years and years, because some day I would need them. I broke that habit last year, and it felt great to continue this year.

This year has been life changing for me. In the four years since I graduated from college I’ve only worked part time jobs, and been back in school. I’ve always been a frugal person so I wore what I felt was in the appropriate price range, instead of going for style. I read people style watch all the time and love fashion, but my love for being frugal was more powerful. I bought a lot of cheap five dollar long sleeve shirts from Ross, threw on a nice scarf and coat, and last years riding boots. Of course I had my really stylish cheap outfits too, but overall my wardrobe was pretty basic. It wasn’t all I could afford but I wanted to save 80% of my money.

Now that I have a full-time job, I’m a little less frugal. I still don’t like to buy anything unless I know I’m getting it for a least 40% cheaper than what it’s worth. I’ll choose the designer look over the designer name brand.

I found some amazing Black Friday deals and a store opening deal at H&M. I’ve gotten so many items for $15 and under. Including 8 sweaters and 3 pairs of old navy jeans.


I found this Michael kors coat for $99 with a $20 off discount as well. It was a great deal for a wool coat, and the gold details were what sold me on it.


So as I’ve gotten new things, I had to get rid of the clothes I knew I wouldn’t wear as often. Someone else would get better use out of them. I rounded up some clothes that I’ve had for years and are still in really good condition. I had a million pairs of hand me down scrubs that are still in good condition but no longer fit my work dress code, so that’s half of what I’m giving away. It feels freeing to not be so attached to things, and also to give to others.

I’m also giving away some of the props from my rustic chic themed wedding that I no longer need.


Although Ive gotten a lot done around the house, I still have a lot more work to do. We’ve had our home for a year, but it seems like there’s always something to improve. My New Years resolution is definitely to keep my home more organized and neat, but I’m getting a really good head start!

5 thoughts on “Skipping the Vacation to be Productive

  1. queencitypetite

    Love this post, thanks for sharing! This reminds me.. I need to do the same thing! I hold on to everything.. and I mean.. EVERYTHING. It’s definitely good to go through your stuff every once in awhile! Great post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This just proves you can also have style without splashing big bucks! I wouldn’t have thought you were frugal (but I thought you are extremely stylish 😜). I’ve never bought into designer things either even as my pay increased. The biggest splurge I grant myself is overseas trip once or twice a year. This is a must for the soul🙂 Good luck with your de-cluttering project. Out with the old and in with the new!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I learned to be frugal from my dad. We would go on amazing trips together when I was a kid and we also went to Disney World every year. He wasn’t rich by any means, but he saved up his money to travel. You can’t put a price on the memories traveling leaves you with!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment